The AAF’s Silver Medal Award Program was established in 1959 to recognize men and women who have made outstanding contributions to advertising and who have been active in furthering the industry’s standards, creative excellence and responsibility in areas of social concern. Annually, AAF member clubs bestow this honor upon outstanding members of the local advertising community.


Year Recipient Company
2017 Andrew Evans Unum
2015 David Campbell Chernoff Newman
2013 Shelley Magee WOLO-TV/ABC Columbia
2010 Margaret Gregory Providence Hospital
2008 Bonnie Drewniany USC
2006 Rigby Wilson WOLO-TV
2005 Cathy Monetti Riggs
1998 Wayne Adams The Adams Group
1993 Mary Mills Safko
1992 Marvin Chernoff Chernoff Silver & Associates
1991 William B. Goodrich
1990 Hal Von Nessen
1989 William E. “Chip” Clary
1988 Billy J. Silver C&S Bank
1987 Peter Lloyd Price McNabb
1986 Dianne Bagwell WIS-TV
1985 Lee Ruef Cook Ruef & Associates
1984 Howard Hellams Harper Hellams & Paige
1983 Bill Kauric Crowson Stone Printing
1982 Billy Deal SC State Credit Union
1981 Tom Chandler WNOK-FM
1980 Tom Allen WIS-TV
1979 Raymond Bigalke Central Advertising Co
1978 Caldwell Withers Withers & Carson
1977 Van Newman Newmany Saylor & Gregory
1976 Willis Cantey C&S Bank
1975 Ora Lee Dantzler USC – President’s House
1974 Frank Harden State Telecasting Co.
1973 Cantey Heath Columbia Outdoor
1972 Albert Scroggins USC School of Journalism
1971 V. R. Coward SCE&G
1970 William Duncan Columbia Newspapers
1969 Richard Laughridge WNOK-TV
1968 Betty Blair Barton Blair & Associates
1967 Gene Cline Carolina Engraving
1966 Robert Isbell State Bank & Trust
1965 Rufus Haltiwanger Columbia Newspapers
1964 Earl McIntire USC School of Journalism
1962 N. E. Brown Tapp’s
1960 Robert Phillips
1956 Sam Weimer